Mastering Motherhood As A Beginner

Last year, I was settling into my new house and starting my journey as a new wife while executing my business, maintaining friendships, and making sure I was still doing me. My business was excelling beyond what I could imagine so fast. My 2022 calendar is filling up, I’m getting request to collab, I’m networking in new circles; it was a dream to be achieving such a strong and passion “side hustle”. Then July 2019, I find out I am going to be getting a new title– mommy.

Now, let me start by saying motherhood has taken me by storm in a few short months. My son was born and I was IN LOVE like H is the greatest blessing to me.  Then, 2 days later, the entire world shut down due to a pandemic. To say my already high anxiety level was through the roof is an understatement. How do I keep this little life safe against something that I cannot see and other people aren’t taking care of themselves around me? Mom pants on; let’s head home.

Getting home I quickly fell even more in love if possible.  I love the snugs and coos and the giggles and smiles, and learning phases, but I do not love the idea of losing myself; losing the notion of self-care. What is self-care as a mom? What is “me” time as a mom? Is it taking that fast 10-minute shower before he wakes up screaming because he doesn’t see me? Is it napping when he naps? If I nap when he naps am I being lazy? Am I lazy for wanting to sit and do nothing while he naps? Wait, I genuinely forgot I had so much laundry to fold upstairs….and so on.

Sometimes, I celebrate small and large victories; sometimes I sit here wondering why H won’t respond to me the way I want while reminding myself that he’s safe, fed, clean, and loved and I am doing great and I am worthy of this success as a mother and a business owner. It’s tough to know which “part” of life deserve more attention than others. Do y’all have a schedule for this?
Monday: Dedicate to marriage
Tuesday: baby
Wednesday: housework
Thursday: business
Friday: Me?

It’s important to remember to stay open and communicate your needs, even internally. I need to do a much better job reminding myself that H loves me so much even with a messy house and wild hair and bags under my eyes. My worth isn’t in a Pinterest house but is apart of my work ethic as a business owner, wife, and mother.

Check-in on your friends, let go of grudges,  count your blessing, and hydrate.

Moms, we are superheroes. Dads, you are all important. It takes a village for babies and parents.


Leave a comment